Kerala Tourism invites franchise bid for Champions Boat League

Aranmula boat race
File Photo

New Delhi: The Kerala Tourism Department, along with agency consortium led by E factor Entertainment and The Social Street, have invited bids from interested parties to buy nine team franchisees in the inaugural edition of the Champions Boat League (CBL).

The CBL has been designed in the popular league format in an endeavour to make Kerala's famed snake boat race a world-class experience for tourists and to create an international sporting atmosphere for participating clubs and their oarsmen.

The teams up for franchise ownership at the CBL are: Pallathuruthy Boat Club, Police Boat Club, United Boat Club, NCDC, Village Boat Club, KBC/SFBC, Vembanad Boat Club, Town Boat Club, and Brothers Boat Club.

The parties interested in buying a team can share their expression of interest on Last date to send in proposals for the nine teams is July 25. Franchisee team ownerships will be finalised and announced at an auction ceremony in Kochi on July 29.

The 2019 edition of the boat league will begin on August 10 with Nehru Trophy Boat Race at Punnamada Lake. The CBL is scheduled to take place at 12 places across the state starting from August 10 until November 1.

The other races are Pulinkunnu (August 17), Thazhathangadi (August 24), Piravam (August 31), Marine Drive (September 7), Kottappuram (September 21), Ponnani (September 28), Kainakari (October 5), Karuvatta (October 12), Kayamkulam (October 19), Kallada (October 26) and the President's Trophy (November 1).

The comments posted here/below/in the given space are not on behalf of Onmanorama. The person posting the comment will be in sole ownership of its responsibility. According to the central government's IT rules, obscene or offensive statement made against a person, religion, community or nation is a punishable offense, and legal action would be taken against people who indulge in such activities.